Favourites Only Flapjacks

by smartgirlssupper

There are a few dishes I make which fall in to the category of what my mother calls “love me” food. Mushroom risotto, slow roast lamb shoulder, and a few other sneaky recipes all have astonishing consequence and should be shared with care. I recommend they are made only for favourites. This avoids any unrequited awkwardness. No-one wants that. These flapjacks recently caused someone to declare their everlasting love for me. Luckily he was a good friend, so  I wasn’t in too much trouble. I have to be honest though, sometimes I make these with no intention of sharing and am instantly transported back to my school days. All muddy kneed and ruddy cheeked. They were some of the best years of my life, making these little treats extra special. For me, anyway. Make with love, share with caution.

Image

Ingredients (makes loads):

100g porridge oats

110g jumbo oats

15g fine ground oatmeal

75g butter

75g soft brown sugar

4 desert spoons of golden syrup

Method:

Preheat the oven to 150C. Place the butter, sugar and syrup in a saucepan on a low heat and stir until combined. Weigh out all the oatmeal and combine them in a bowl. Now you can bring the dry oats with the sticky sweet mixture and stir until all the oats have a nice even coating. Pour the mixture into a 20cm baking tray and cover in tin foil. This stops the top going tooth-crackingly solid. Place in the middle of the oven for 45 minutes. Once done, remove from the oven and leave to cool for 15-20 minutes. When ready, turn out and allow to cool again for the same amount of time. Then you are cut into the proportions you like. I like nice chunky squares and should really add a second warning, it’s impossible to have just one…

By Morgana

