Very Lazy Sunday Supper

by smartgirlssupper

When I can feel the wicked hand of sloth on my shoulder on a Sunday afternoon, there is nothing I would rather throw together than oatcakes and cheese. My feelings towards good cheese (today’s featured cheese is Keen’s cheddar courtesy of Neal’s Yard Dairy) are akin to those vocalised by the one and only Wallace of ‘and Gromit’ fame. The star of the show here for me, however is the cheddar’s vehicle. I love oats. I could spend hours extolling the virtues of this oat-so-simple super food. See what I did there? Terrible. Back to oats though, they are so good for you I have become utterly enamoured by the savoury, wholesome flavour that has an innate ability just to make everything OK. They also harbour a slightly sloppy sentimental place in my heart as my first ever boyfriend used to refer to me as ‘the Oat’. I know, pass the bucket, but I rather liked it. Here is a nifty recipe for some plain oatcakes for those days when you feel like indulging in being just a little lazy.

Image

Ingredients:

100g Porridge oats

10g Coarse/pinhead oatmeal

20g Fine grade oatmeal

30g Butter melted

50ml Warm water

Small pinch of salt

Small pinch of ground black pepper

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180C. Melt the butter on a very low heat so it doesn’t burn. Mix all the different grades of oat in a mixing bowl until combined. Then pour in and combine the butter and water. With your hands take golf ball sized amount of the mixture and flatten them in your palms until approximately 5mm in height. Place on a lined baking tray and bake for around 20 minutes. Keep an eye though, they can be temperamental  They should be slightly golden when done. Remove from the oven and allow to cool on a wire rack. Job done.

Image

By Morgana

