The Importance of Ingredients

by smartgirlssupper

Retail therapy can manifest itself in innumerable ways. It is the most individual of indulgences. As Holly Golightly said when the ‘mean reds’ kick in, spending your hard-earned cash on something ridiculous often seems the best way to blow off steam. To one it might be blowing £600 on a bag that resembles what you carried your P.E. kit in at school aged 6-and-three-quarters.

To another, it might be an antique triumph spitfire in raspberry red. An absolute necessity no doubt… until, that is, you come to the sharp realisation it doesn’t quite work parked outside your grotty student flat share in Stockwell. To me it is spending £8 on a mushroom. Yes, I know. I am a preposterous human being. £8 is an unjustifiable, mental amount of money to spend on a single mushroom. Nonetheless, I am going to justify it.

Image

Who needs new shoes when you have a forest floor gem like this in your pantry?

Image

Good ingredients to me are a more-than-worthy investment for reasons that are angelically selfless and wickedly selfish, in equal measure. Selfless in the sense that what I am spending my money on is splashing out on higher welfare for animals, cutting down on carbon and other equally nasty emissions, and paying my way in securing a future for the flora and fauna of this beautiful planet we call home.

By eating free-range farmed meat, seasonal game and sustainable fish I am ensuring the meat I eat comes from high welfare animals. Buying seasonal, locally grown veggies and fruit as much as you can will, at the risk of making you feel like an hippie, help reduce your foody-carbon-footprint and support local business. It may come with a price tag, and not everyone can do it all the time, I know I can’t. As much as my means will allow is, I think, good enough.

Respect your prospective dinner and trust me, when it comes to ingredients, you get what you pay for.  It also means you eat like a king. I don’t care what anyone else says, you really, truly can taste the difference. Good quality ingredients tastes so much better that your average battery-farmed-intensive-frozen-microwavable dinner. With a little thought and care what you eat can be so much more than just fuel. Live to eat, don’t just eat to live, that’s my philosophy. My coat might be from a bygone season, my transport might come courtesy of tfL, but, holy mackerel is my dinner to die for. See what I did with my mighty mushroom in the following post.

By Morgana

