A Yummy Seasonal Side: Creamed Cabbage

by smartgirlssupper

Having Able and Cole deliver seasonal vegetables to my door each week while I’m still in bed is quite a treat, but when they say seasonal they mean it. I often find myself overwhelmed by one lovely vegetable for a few weeks on end and have to be creative with recipes so as not to find myself wanting to throw a tantrum at the thought of eating the same dinner three nights in a row. Cabbage is the man of the moment as I’m finding him in my fridge week after week. Thankfully I’m quite fond of cabbage, boiled, stir fried, with bacon or with ginger but this has to be my favourite way to have it. And it makes a great Sunday roast side.

Image

Ingredients (serves 4 as a side):

Half a medium cabbage (savoy is particularly yummy)

1 small onion

1 garlic clove

A good knob of butter

1tbsp plain flour

Half a chicken stock cube

1 cup of boiling water (and a bit more for cooking the cabbage)

1 tsp dijon mustard

Half a cup of milk

A good dollop of cream

Salt and pepper to taste

Method:

Shred the cabbage and blanch in boiling, salted water for 4-5 minutes.

Dice the onions and slice the garlic and fry over a low heat so they caramelise slowly.

Make up the chicken stock cube with the cup of boiling water.

In a separate pan melt the butter and add the flour to make a roux. Having cooked the mixture for 30 seconds or so mix in the mustard, salt and pepper. Slowly add the chicken stock, mixing throughly to make sure there are no lumps. Once the sauce has thickened add the milk, slowly, and continue to stir.

Drain the cabbage, add to the onion and garlic mixture and pour over the sauce, adding a cheeky dollop of cream. Give it all a good stir and season to taste.

By Rosie

